You are here

Seth Bank

Temple Foundation Endowed Faculty Fellow #5
Electrical and Computer Engineering
MER 2.606C
EER 3.884

Dr. Seth Bank is the Temple Foundation Endowed Faculty Fellow and a Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

He received the B.S. degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1999 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in 2003 and 2006 from Stanford University, all in electrical engineering. In 2006, he was a post-doctoral scholar at the University of California at Santa Barbara. He joined the faculty of The University of Texas at Austin in the Spring of 2007. He heads The Laboratory for Advanced Semiconductor Epitaxy (LASE) located in the Microelectronics Research Center.

His current research interests are centered on the molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) growth of dilute-nitride semiconductors (e.g. GaInNAsSb), metal/semiconductor nanocomposites (e.g. ErAs nanoparticles in GaAs), carbon nanostructures (e.g. graphene) and their application to silicon-based lasers, mid-IR lasers, THz generation and sensing, and high-speed transistors. He has received several Best Paper Awards, a 2010 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the NSF, a 2010 Young Investigator Award from ONR, a 2009 Young Investigator Award from AFOSR, the 2009 Young Scientist Award from the International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors, a 2008 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) nominated by ARO, a 2008 Young Faculty Award from DARPA, the 2008 Young Investigator Award at the International MBE Meeting, and has coauthored over 150 papers and presentations in these areas.