News and Events

Recent News

UT ECE professors Mikhail Belkin and Neal Hall have been named recipients of 2012 DARPA Young Faculty Awards. According to DARPA, "The objective of the DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA) program is to identify and engage rising research stars in junior faculty positions at U.S.

he National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP) is awarded annually to promising graduate students throughout the nation to fund their research.

Professor Mikhail Belkin of UT ECE was awarded an NSF CAREER award for his work on "Terahertz Semiconductor Laser Sources for Operation Above Cryogenic Temperatures." The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Fou

UT ECE professor Seth Bank recently attended the 22nd Annual Kavli Frontiers of Science Symposium put on by the National Academy of Sciences and the Kavli Foundation. Since 1989, the Academy has organized annual symposia on Frontiers of Science.

Prof. Seth Bank and his research group are investigating new materials to solve long-standing challenges that will potentially enable fundamentally new photonic devices with diverse applications, such as solar power generation, chemical/gas sensing, and optical communications.